Sondos, Egypt

Dear World,

”You may say I am a dreamer, but I am not the only one. I hope someday you will join us. And the world will live as one.” -John Lennon.

My name is Sondos and I am a 15-year-old girl from Egypt. Hearing in the news about the various conflicts happening in almost every country has become normal. A feeling of shame usually haunts me, as I am being unable to solve this issue. There are indeed people who wish to stop this global war and pursue peace including me, but how could we achieve this goal?

In order to do that, we should get rid of all the hatred we surround ourselves with. Take for instance, a quarrel that occurs between two neighbors due to hatred, jealousy, or envy. It may be simple, but a modest quarrel might lead to a civil war. That is how it works. Do you see my point? We should live joyfully and look for inner peace as it helps in reaching our aim of worldwide peace.

Consequently, I see that each person has a specific role in creating this vision. Women, for example, should plant the term of peace in their children’s daily life. Most men also should stop seeking power because this is the main reason for these conflicts. Youth should participate in different worldwide activities in order to make friends, exchange cultures and spread awareness of creating peace. Moreover, social media can be a platform to discuss solutions to obtain a peaceful world.

Personally, I am doing my best to create peace among people who surround me. However, I will not succeed alone. I need you to smile, forgive, love and search for happiness in the tiniest things. Stop violence, racism and help make the world a better place. Let us all live as one.

Yours truly,

Sondos Hesham Egypt

Leave a Reply

